Showing posts with label ps4. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ps4. Show all posts

Saturday, October 1, 2016

That FIFA time of year again...

So FIFA '17 is out now, and I haven't bought it yet. I'm still pretty much sticking with FIFA '16 for a while...why? Because FIFA games never change much from year to year...right?

Well for the most part they don't, but this year's edition has added some kind of story mode...and the Frostbite 3 engine. I'm still not wholly convinced I should spend in the neighborhood of $60 for it yet though. The worst thing about EA games is that I can't even get them cheaply on the PC, thanks to EA forcing you to play through Origin. I'll be honest too, I mostly only play career mode as a manager and sometimes I play Ultimate Team, so the new story mode isn't really appealing to me.  I just like getting a League Two team and getting them promoted all the way into the Premier League. Sadly, the main reason I buy a new FIFA game is for the roster updates.

Which brings me to PES 2017; I haven't played a PES game since Playstation 3. I'm a sucker for the licensed teams, and PES doesn't have a ton of them like FIFA does. But I have heard that PES is the way to go for a better quality football (soccer) experience. But then I saw a video comparing the console to the PC version, and that was a major turn-off. Why would the PC version be worse than the console version? That makes zero sense. Here is a video showing the differences:

YouTube video comparing PES PC/PS4/XBONE

The GTX 970 in my PC should blow whatever a PS4 or XBone can do out of the water...instead it looks like Konami decided to screw PC users over. Which, Konami hasn't been the greatest games publisher over the past 5 years or so anyway. They've sold their souls for pachinko machines instead. I suppose I could buy PES on XBone or something though...which I may do, I suppose I could use the ton of Bing search points that I have saved up to buy it.

Anyway, as far as FIFA goes, I don't plan on buying the new version anytime soon, I'll just continue playing '16 for the meantime.

Have any thoughts on this topic? Please comment, I'd love to hear what you think.